Celebrate!: The Jovialities of January

‘Tis the new year! Has anyone started procrastinating yet?

*turns off the huge neon side above her head*

Alright, I’ll admit it. Nine days into 2015 and this is the first day that I’ve actually sat down with the intention of actually banging out a post from beginning to end. Similarly, my TED Talk Challenge and Easy Squat Challenge are faring just as well as an elderly gentleman at a urinal. If how a year started was an indication of how it would be all throughout, then… well, have a look at this video:

Yep, spot on, Drake.

Anyway, as much as I would like to point to my Houdini-girl as the culprit leading to my procrastination, I really can’t because then that would be totally ignoring the fact that I’ve been bitten by the crochet bug!

2015-01-09 17.09.17

My lone crochet hook taking a breather. Don’t worry, I’ll be getting you some friends soon!

Since the year started, I’ve made a pair of baby booties, headbands for me and my daughter, a developmental ball, and a phone casing. Huh, now that I’ve actually written them down, I kind of feel vindicated. Why no, I haven’t washed my hair in three days, but I’ve crocheted up a storm! I’m so deep into Ravelry that I’ve got an entire wardrobe all set up for Houdini till she’s ready to move out of the house and, if I’m to believe my more seasoned groupmates, the insanity is just beginning.

Hookcraft aside, there are other things I want to achieve this year, but more on that in a later post. For now, it’s time to Celebrate!

January is typically a time for new beginnings, so it’s no wonder that it’s also the month to officially Get Organized. Aside from that fun activity, here’s a list of other observances for the month:

  • Be Kind to Food Servers Month
  • Hot Tea Month
  • Eye Care Month
  • Bath Safety Month
  • International Brain Teaser Month
  • Family Fit Lifestyle Month
  • Wealth Mentality Month

I like to have little daily celebrations as well, just because, and it turns out the January is chock-full of interesting little hurrahs.

  • Jan 4 – Spaghetti Day
  • Jan 8 – Bubble Bath Day
  • Jan 10 – Houseplant Appreciation Day
  • Jan 14 – Dress Up Your Pet Day
  • Jan 15 – Hat Day
  • Jan 17 – Cable Car Day
  • Jan 22 – Blonde Brownie Day
  • Jan 24 – Peanut Butter Day
  • Jan 27 – Chocolate Cake Day
  • Jan 30 – Croissant Day

Peanut butter rules! I’ll see what I can come up for that one. Until then, ’tis time to get back to figuring out what I’ll be making for my daughter’s birthday this June.

Somehow, I get the feeling there’ll be a yarn-related meltdown in the near future.

4 thoughts on “Celebrate!: The Jovialities of January

    • Kyaru says:

      AAAHHHH, a crochet buddy??? You’re kidding!

      I just learned how to do it over Christmas, and it is SO addictive. I have physically turn away from the computer to stop myself from yarn-hoarding >.<

      Like

  1. Matromao says:

    I just got into knitting two weeks ago. I’ve been obsessively trying to finish a scarf ever since. I’m a little sad, though. Knitting doesn’t seem to be as popular as crocheting is, if the variety of yarn is being discussed. Other colors or even other materials apart from acrylic is so specialized that it seems as though only online vendors stock them. I’m the type who likes to feel the yarn before buying, so this is turning out to be a dilemma.

    Love those fun things planned out for January. It’s just so much better to take notice of the little things and to savor them. 🙂

    Like

    • Kyaru says:

      I think the absolute opposite: knitting seems to be more popular than crochet!

      The yarns I’ve seen are kinda neutral, I think. It’s more the size of the needle or hook used. But yeah, feeling up the yarn is fuuuuun. I hear I’m going to get some bamboo/cotton blend soon, so I’ll do a review of that as soon as I get it 🙂

      Like

Drop a line, tell me what you think!

