Prompting Inspiration

I am inspired, yet also repelled, by our homework today: Prompts. I’ve got to admit, I’m one of those who seeks inspiration; I put on my writing hat, my grammar gloves and ten-dollar-word boots and I trek across the interwebs, searching for prompt lists and advent fic calendars. I herd them all into my files so I can gaze at them with pride. I may even print some and pin them to my wall as a sort of monument-to-be. And then I forget about them.

Why? I don’t know. It certainly doesn’t give me any pleasure to be reminded that I haven’t written anything in three years (*sob*). What’s more, I’m ever on the lookout for more prompts. This 365 WordPress Prompts ebook? Yeah, downloaded it. Masochism? A little bit.

In any case, today’s prompt is titled ‘The Great Divide’ (see original prompt here). As soon as i saw the title, I had an ‘Aha!’ moment out of nowhere:

You’re a long-lived supernatural being watching the Grand Canyon be formed. What are your thoughts, your feelings?

Just barely associated with the original prompt, I still quite like it because it seems like it has a lot of potential. There’s a part two to this assignment tomorrow, so we’ll see what happens.

In other news, I’m slowly working my way through other Blogging101 assignments, maybe finding a new theme (again), working on blogrolls and linkage and all that to make a happy bouncy blog.

Hope everyone’s having a good day. If you’re not, tell me about it, or leave me a link to your prompt. That’d be fun, right?

3 thoughts on “Prompting Inspiration

  1. Cica says:

    The first thing that popped into my head is Supernatural Hero, but I read it again. Supernatural Being, I really like that much better. You exist, you explore, you could do good or bad with whatever chosen method of power you have been given. Thank you for getting me outside my head, even if for a little while. This may not be at all what your assignment is about. When I was in college, I was asked essay questions, I didn’t answer the way the teacher thought I should and made a C on my exam

    Like

    • Kyaru says:

      The good thing about Blogging101, and prompts in general, is there’s no ‘should’ about anything. It’s main purpose is to help you exert your control over your own space, and that’s always a win 🙂

      Like

Drop a line, tell me what you think!

