The List Challenge: People In Your Family

Welcome to the Transformative 30! If you want a little info about what that means and why I’m doing it, here’s a quick mind-blurb.

Ah, family. That’s the kind of word you want to cuddle up to while eating ice cream and watching movies.

Families take you on an emotional roller coaster ride, but like the safety belt, they’ll always have a hold on you. In the Philippines, family ties are very important and there are clear roles for everyone to play. I’ve just started my own little nuclear group so I’m still figuring my new role out, but I know my extended family is always there to support me.

Bite – There’s a book by my favorite author where the love interest of the hero is lovingly nicknamed ‘Killer’. I may have been thinking of that moment when I came up with a pet name for my husband.

Random fact: He’s a nut about Gundam figurines. When we get our own place, he wants a little Gundam workshop.

Houdini – My little princess is turning two months old in a few days and she’s beginning to coo a lot. She’s an endless source of fascination and inspiration.

Random fact: Her hair sticks up in a natural mohawk. They all say she looks like a boy so we should dress her up in pink, but what does she know of gender classification? She’s two months old!

Lala and Papi – My mother inspired me to become a stay-at-home mom as well, and I mostly take after my dad.

Random facts: My mom is a fabulous baker and cook, but when she married my father, she only knew the most basic dishes. So every summer when they came back home to the Philippines, he would pay for her to take any cooking class she wanted. The result? Dishes that wow even after thirty years.

Bro and Yi – My brother and his girlfriend are some of the best people you’ll ever meet. They’re like a perfect match: the multi-talented yet dispassionate boy and the girl who knows how to motivate him.

Random fact: They plan to get married in 2017, though no word yet as to where, but they know the theme is going to be purple.

And as a bonus random fact about my family: We firmly advocate personal and family financial planning. I just recently discovered what it’s like to be caught unprepared and, can I just say, it sucks big time. I never want to be in that situation again, and I don’t want anyone else to go through it either.

What do you think? Give your own family a big hug or a telephone call, then come back and tell me little bit about you!

This challenge was originally posted here.

Drop a line, tell me what you think!

