The List Challenge: Ten Favorite Movies

Welcome to the Transformative 30! If you want a little info about what that means and why I’m doing it, here’s a quick mind-blurb.

My little Houdini went in for her second round of vaccinations yesterday. Aside from some expected sensitivity, there isn’t any fallout (yet) and our cycle of eat/play/nap is going on as usual. It’s still a bit of a rumpus though, so is it any wonder that I’ve just realized that I skipped over an item on the list and also that my supposed-to-be regular posting is not so regular?

Ah well, c’est la vie. Or should I say, c’est la baby.

I may possibly have an issue with numbers. To me, choosing a favorite means that I would chose ‘this’ over ‘that’ because there’s something I like about it. But then to try and enumerate them? That’s a tough decision.And I’m not really the first person you think of when it comes to making the tough decision.

In any case, as always, I put my own spin on this particular list. As in the 10 songs list, these movies have been with me growing up. I love playing them in the background while I’m doing something, and I’ve done that so much that I’ve memorized every word, scene and facial expression.

1. Lethal Weapon I, II, III, IV

Don’t make me choose because I can’t, it’s impossible. Riggs and Murtaugh have been in my life ever since I can remember. If I want to have a simple plot and lots of bullets, this is the one I turn to. Even the new one is good, and you can’t say that about all continuations made years and years after the original. Now with Hollywood’ current trend of rebooting everyone and their mother’s old favorites, I suppose it’s just a matter of time before they grab this franchise (Mel willing), and I’ll just have to empty my heart and go into that cinema with an open mind even if the whole world thinks it sucks balls. But I’ll still want to name one of my sons Riggs 🙂

2. The Addams Family (1991)

Where else can you have ‘hilarious’ and ‘gothic’ combined? I was finally able to get the TV series and I can’t wait to watch it! This movie will always have a special place in my heart though because it is epic. It is epic from start to finish. The characters, the house, the script, everything about it just wins on all levels. Even years after I first watched it, I still get inspired, which is why I came up with Harveste Addams in the first place, and that was a blast.

3. Hocus Pocus (1993)

Though this movie sort of reinforces the negative stereotype of witchcraft, I don’t think it set out to be a political statement. It’s just a Halloween-themed showcase with the great Bette Midler front and center. You also get to see a younger Sarah Jessica Parker and even if you don’t like her now, she pulls of a really hot goth chick look in this film. And of course, there’s Thackery Binks, which just goes to show that you must always be careful around a black cat… He might just be a sexy teenager in a cursed disguise.

4. Oscar (1991)

The Finuccis! My brother and I both love this film, which is a fairly unlikely occurrence because his taste in movies run towards a different genre and type of comedy. I’ve never come across a slapstick gangster comedy like Oscar, and not only because it stays true to the era (they sport some wicked spats in this film). You get to see a fresh-faced Sly Stallone try and run his household in preparation for a big day, with people and unexpected revelations popping in left and right. If you’re looking for something light and funny, this is the movie for you.

5. Dracula: Dead and Loving It (1995)

Now I have nothing against Twilight… no, I take it back, I have everything against Twilight. Vlad the Impaler would turn over in his grave if he knew what his legend had been reduced to, and Bram Stoker would be utterly depressed. Teenagers of today, please!

This is one hot topic for me, and I can’t let it go. If there must be a mockery of my favorite undead creature, then I would rather go with this movie. Plus, it’s got Leslie Nielsen in it, and I’ve always been a big fan (RIP, Lt. Drebin.)

6. Men In Black (1997)

I’m not very in to sci-fi, but this and Independence Day just rocked my world. Granted, the third installment wasn’t all that (not enough of K, in my opinion) but no one can fault the original movie for being kick-ass. And also, they deal with my biggest phobia. With laser guns.

7. Independence Day (1996)

When Independence Day is mentioned, this is where my mind immediately goes because, sir, when you’re fighting for your life and the freedom of the Earth against technologically-advanced, tentacled, psionic invaders, you want Bill Pullman giving that fighting speech.

They say there’s going to be a sequel. Oh dear.

8. The First Wives Club (1996)

Bette Midler strikes again, and this time Sarah Jessica Parker is pitted against her as the ultra-thin girlfriend of Bette’s ex-husband. Don’t ask me why, but somehow Bette and Jess just work really well together. This movie is a must-watch for all the women who feel put upon and unappreciated by their husbands, and this should serve as a warning for those same husbands as well: We don’t just get even, we get everything.

9. Shanghai Noon (2000) and Shanghai Knights (2003)

‘I can’t separate them, they’re part of a set’- said the collector to the appraiser. My own little joke, don’t mind me. Shanghai Noon introduced me to the wonder of Jackie Chan, though I had seen his older movies before (fan of Chinese movies circa 1980s), and I’ve revered him ever since. I’ve even read his biography which, apart from my schoolbooks, is the only non-fiction book I’ve ever read.

10. Mrs. Doubtfire (1993)

Resurrected and on the player nonstop since the unfortunate news of Robin Williams’ passing, I watch this film and I’m thankful that his talents and his humor were preserved in a medium that I can share with my daughter in the years to come. This movie paints a realistic picture of what happens during a divorce, and the feels of everyone involved. The mask and makeup are also damn realistic, and they’re brought to life by the man that plays Euphegenia Doubtfire. Bravissimo, sir.

I notice that my favorites are all centered around the 1990s mark, and that’s not much of a surprise. Most comedies now center on crude and transparent jokes. Though they still elicit a laugh, it just doesn’t feel the same for me.

How about you, what are your favorite movies? Do share!

This challenge was originally posted here.

Drop a line, tell me what you think!

