The List Challenge: Ten Favorite Songs

Welcome to the Transformative 30! If you want a little info about what that means and why I’m doing it, here’s a quick mind-blurb.

I love music. Music is for me as wine is for other people my age. I don’t care where it comes from, or when, or how (I’m looking at you, dubstep)– all I care about is that it has a beat I can relate to and enjoy, no matter the situation.

Lyrics don’t really matter that much to me. In fact I had a phase where I only listened to Japanese music day in an day out, for three whole years, and I didn’t speak a word of Japanese. Then there was my African tribal music phase, my piano concertos phase, my orchestra phase… Music needs no words to get its message across, but all the same, it’s fun to sing (or hum) along.

With that it mind, it was extremely difficult for me to just pick ten favorite songs. Finally, I decided on songs or music pieces that have worked themselves into my everyday life, the ones that come to mind out of the blue, the permanent residents of the Last Song Syndrome part of my brain.

This is in no particular order, because they share equal mindspace and I love them all.

1. Sesame Street – African Alphabet Song

This is the alphabet song for me. I remember trying to record all the Sesame Street songs on my tape recorder so I could listen to them on the bus. I was in 7th grade, and I was also heavily into Enya and the beautiful orchestral score of Jurassic Park. I’m starting to think I was a really weird kid.

2. John Williams – Jurassic Park Theme Song

I had a listen to it again this morning and the way I feel about it hasn’t changed. The way the orchestra comes together and the music builds, it never fails to make me want to cry. Which is inappropriate, especially if you’re being run down by raptors.

3. The Jungle Book – Trust In Me (Kaa’s song)

My entire family knows this song, and we break it out whenever we’re feeling bored or one of us needs to give up the comp and go to bed. It’s getting renewed use around Houdini, who loves being cuddled to sleep.

4. The Jungle Book – The Bare Necessities

Who doesn’t love Baloo? I think the simple and easy-going life appealed to me even then, so this song really spoke to me.

5. The Lion King – Hakuna Matata

I can’t even look at those two words together without singing a little. This was, is, and always will be my theme song.

6. Johannes Brahms – Hungarian Dance No. 5

I don’t know where I first heard this, but the most memorable time was during the Mel Brooks movie ‘Dracula – Dead and Loving It’ starring Leslie Nielsen. It was called the csárdás and I may never know why, but I still love it.

7. Sister Act 2 – O Happy Day

If this is the first time you’ve heard this, you’re welcome. If you ‘ve heard it before but haven’t done so in a long time, you’re welcome. If you just listened to it five minutes ago and are doing so again, you’re welcome. There’s no true music lover who wouldn’t be touched and amazed by this rendition.

8. Sister Act – Hail Holy Queen

This is just cute. So cute. I can’t even understand (or pronounce) the latin and I sing this. And clap along too.

9. The Barber of Seville – Opening aria ‘Largo al factotum’

When this song starts a film, I know it’s going to be my kind of movie. I actually started singing this to Houdini (in full faux operatic voice), and I was surprised I knew almost all the words.

10. The Piano Guys

I can’t even begin to choose a favorite song from this group. They’re just amazeballs. When I introduced them to my now-husband, he loved them no matter what song they played, and that’s when I first knew we would get along. I mean, how can you not like this, or this, or this? They have more wonderful pieces, so check them out!

This challenge was originally posted here.

One thought on “The List Challenge: Ten Favorite Songs

Drop a line, tell me what you think!

