The List Challenge: Five Childhood Memories

Welcome to the Transformative 30! If you want a little info about what that means and why I’m doing it, here’s a quick mind-blurb.

The first challenge is something I chose for its simplicity and my ability to bang out maybe two hundred words a day (my little Houdini is barely two months as of this writing, and she’s a packet of high-maintenance adorbz ). I found it here on Heck Yeah Tumblr Challenges and I thought this would be a great way to learn about myself. I mean, how much do we know about ourselves, really? Can you tell me your top ten fave movies off the top of your head? Because I can’t, and I can’t wait to find out!

Onward to the journey of self-discovery!

This took longer than I thought, and not because I’ve got a lot of memories to sort through. Most of the ones that came to mind first are the negative ones, and who wants to remember those? Finally, I came up with what I think are the most positive and meaningful memories that I have held on to throughout the years:

– Being left at home for the first time

I think this was the first time I felt independent. My mom took my little brother to the grocery store and she let me stay at home. I remember taking a box of cereal and eating it in the carpeted hallway, my eyes on the door the entire time. I was scared that they wouldn’t come back but I was determined to guard the house against anything and everything. I was going through an entire Home Alone sequence in my head when they finally arrived.

– Climbing the jungle gym at Taco Bell so I could finish my story in peace

This is perhaps the first memory that combines my loner mentality and my love of writing. It makes me wonder why I developed a fear of heights, because obviously I wasn’t that scared when I scaled the jungle gym’s netting so I could get to a quiet place near the ceiling. I finished my first book too, an epic 7-pager about a girl and her pet dinosaur.

– Coming home after fifteen minutes of playtime then turning my mom down when she told me I could play more

More proof of my loner mentality. I much preferred reading or playing in the house than being outside of it. Probably explains why I have under-developed social skills. Maybe there’s a challenge that addresses that issue.

– My birthday dessert

I’m the eldest child in our family, and my parents waited 6 years for me. No wonder every birthday of mine was a grand celebration. What I remember though, more than any cake, is the sweet ending to our annual dinner at a Chinese restaurant: bananas dipped into a simple batter and deep-fried until golden brown, served with vanilla ice cream and a candle.  Thus my love for food was born.

– Our first meal in Dubai

It was Pizza Hut, and I love Pizza Hut. I could set up camp next to their salad bar with a plate, a fork and a bottle of parmesan cheese. It was the first time we were together in more than two years, and we were starting a new life in a new country. I remember being so excited and thinking that Dubai would be a pretty cool place to call home. I was right.

Ah, what a walk down memory lane! I hadn’t even thought about them in a long time (I’m noticing a lot of food mentions) but I’m happy to see them written down here so I can never forget.

It amazes me to see how the things I did in the past can be used to explain the way I am today. Looking at my little girl, it makes me wonder what her memories are going to be, and what character traits are going to last her until her adult years.

Do you have any childhood memories that you think shaped you into the person you are today? I’d love to hear about them!

Drop a line, tell me what you think!

